Not Your Mom’s Library

IMG_1400Its been a long time since a book has caught me this off guard. And from a debut author nonetheless! The Library at Mount Char made me shiver and cringe and laugh. I’ve been screaming at everyone I know, “You need to read this IMMEDIATELY!”

But here is my problem. They ask what it’s about. I DON’T KNOW! I can’t explain anything about it without giving too much away. There are weird things about our world we don’t even want to understand. And I’m not talking about fairies, werewolves, and vampires. Librarians of the world are more bad-ass than anyone thought. And all librarians hold a special place in my heart since my mother is one, but these librarians are unlike any I’ve ever met. And their library! It’s incredible. And terrifying.

I received an advanced readers copy of this book and they say not to do this but I’d like to share the first line with you.

Carolyn, blood-drenched and barefoot, walked alone down the two-lane stretch of black top that the Americans called Highway 78

How is that not intriguing?

The Library at Mount Char by Scott Hawkins was published June 16, 2015 by Crown Publishers

By Emily Coleman

One comment

Leave a Reply

