Survivors Guilt

City of Blades is the second book to City of Stairs and the only work I’ve read by Robert Jackson Bennett. So far, he has me thoroughly engaged. IMG_0154City of Stairs had a slow start because I wasn’t expecting it to be as political heavy as it was but my interest quickly picked up. I was all too happy to jump into City of Blades.

The second book follows General Turyin Mulaghesh as she sets out on a secret mission from Prime Minister Shara Thivani. She’s following up on the disappearance of Sumitra Choudhry and what she might have discovered about the Divine miracles that are no longer supposed to work since the deaths of the Gods decades ago. It was great seeing the point of view from Mulaghesh. She rounded out as a character even further than what we see in the first novel. Mulaghesh is a guilt ridden general who has a lot to make up for from her early days in the military.

Robert Jackson Bennett has created a murder mystery series in an intricately built fantasy world. It never felt like I was reading a murder mystery as I was simply enjoying the characters and this new world. I can’t wait to see what Bennett brings with the third novel and whose point of view it will be in. I have my fingers crossed for Sigrud’s point of view next.

 

By Emily Coleman

Leave a Reply

