Bitches Be Crazy

Nick Seeley in an international journalist traveling primarily through 3rd world countries so when he writes a debut novel following a photo journalist through Cambodia, it reads genuine. I read several reviews saying the vivid depictions of Cambodia’s criminal underbelly was too much, but it was the opposite for me; I couldn’t stop reading.IMG_0382

Will Keller built himself a reputation for being one of the best war photo journalists but he has settled in Cambodia to escape himself. Keller accepts a search and retrieve missing persons job from Kara, who is looking for her sister June. Turns out Keller knew June but no one knew her as well as they thought. And maybe June is runner from herself, much like Keller.

I devoured Cambodia Noir in one sitting. Seeley kept the action moving and never gave Keller the time to rest, nor the reader. But Keller was good at keeping the reader on their toes as well. He was always in a drug and alcohol infused trip and it felt like my head was spinning as much as it sounded like his was. While nothing about the novel was revolutionary, I enjoyed the journey it took me on. The ending took me by surprise and that always gets bonus points from me.

 

By Emily Coleman

Leave a Reply

